Skip to main content

LUMI consortium

LUMI, one of the EuroHPC pre-exascale supercomputers, is located at CSC’s data center in Kajaani, Finland. The supercomputer is hosted by the LUMI consortium including ten European countries.

The LUMI (Large Unified Modern Infrastructure) consortium countries are Finland, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Iceland, Norway, Poland, Sweden, and Switzerland. Bringing together their unique expertise and experience, these countries will together provide added value for the whole Europe.

EuroHPC continues the European collaboration on high-performance computing, from which European researchers have already benefited from over the years. The investment will make CSC’s data center one of the world’s largest players in the field of high-performance computing.“
Kimmo Koski, Managing Director of CSC

This consortium provides a high-quality, cost-efficient and environmentally sustainable HPC ecosystem based on true European collaboration. At the core of the consortium’s expertise is a solid tradition of collaboration in HPC training and education, user support and data management services, since purchasing and operating supercomputers alone will not ensure Europe a leading place in innovation and science without the necessary training and skills development.

State-of-the-art supercomputing and data infrastructure for world-class research and innovation

The exascale ready supercomputing and data infrastructure at CSC’s data center in Kajaani will help position Europe as one of the world leaders in supercomputing. Computing power of this size is required in leading-edge research in a wide range of data- and computing-intensive fields as the importance of various data-driven methods in research, administration, and industry is constantly increasing. Examples include climate, pharmaceutical, and cancer research as well as artificial intelligence.

With the new infrastructure, European researchers can access world-class computing resources, which have a direct positive impact on European research in nearly all scientific disciplines. In practice, this allows researchers to make more calculations within a shorter period of time and study larger or more accurate models than ever before for cutting edge research. The state-of-the-art computing resources will also lay grounds to carry out research in areas, which have previously been out of reach, increasing the possibilities for scientific breakthroughs with immense societal impact, such as understanding climate change.

The new data management and HPC infrastructure will enable solving grand challenges, and in addition, it will lay grounds for innovation and new data-based business opportunities in areas such as platform economy and the development of artificial intelligence. Artificial intelligence enables the automation of various data processing tasks, which significantly increases the productivity of existing tasks and, furthermore, creates entirely new ways to leverage digital information. Exploiting the potential of the data economy is a key factor for Europe’s competitiveness. The EuroHPC offers an excellent framework for Europe to strengthen its position as one of the pioneers of the data-driven economy.

LUMI consortium partners:

Belgium: Belgian Science Policy Office
Czech Republic: VSB –Technical University of Ostrava, IT4Innovations National Supercomputing Center
Denmark: Danish e-infrastructure Consortium (DeiC)
Estonia: Estonian Scientific Computing Infrastructure
Finland: CSC – IT Center for Science Ltd.
Iceland: University of Iceland
Norway: UNINETT Sigma2 AS
Poland: AGH University of Science and Technology, Academic Computer Centre Cyfronet AGH
Sweden: Swedish Research Council, Vetenskapsrådet
Switzerland: ETH Zürich

LUMI Strategic Committee:

Belgium: Laurent Ghys
Czech Republic: Vit Vondrak
Denmark: Torben Larsen
Estonia: Ivar Koppel
Finland: Kimmo Koski (Chair)
Iceland: Morris Riedel
Norway: Gunnar Bøe
Poland: Mariusz Sterzel
Sweden: Mikael Borg
Switzerland: Thomas Schulthess

LUMI Operational Management Board:

Hans A. Eide, Norway
Radovan Pasek, Czech Republic
Stefano Gorini, Switzerland
Claudio Pica, Denmark
Pekka Lehtovuori, Finland (Chair)